Winners of the 2020 Janet Rossant Research Innovation Prize

Congratulations to SickKids researchers Drs. James Ellis, Stephen Scherer, Seema Mital, Binita Kamath, Norman Rosenblum and Steven Prescott! Their work generating a high-quality resource of versatile induced pluripotent stem cells (iPSC) control lines for use in disease modeling studies (full text article here) has been awarded the 2020 Janet Rossant Research Innovation Prize.

Collaborators from the University of Toronto were Drs. Michele Anderson, Juan C. Zuniga-Pflucker and Michael Szego. The prize, which comes with $25,000, highlights the exciting and innovative work that is going on in the SickKids research community.

The Research Institute launched the Janet Rossant Research Innovation Prize in 2018. It is awarded annually to two or more RI faculty members in recognition of a collaborative, interdisciplinary, cross-cutting research endeavour, resulting in a significant breakthrough. It is named in honour of Dr. Janet Rossant, Senior Scientist and Chief of Research Emeritus, who embodies the spirit of discovery that is central to the Research Institute.

Congratulations to the winners and to all this year’s nominees!